[News] Fata Morgana no Yakata April Fool’s, English version news

sevens

This post is some brief news on Fata Morgana no Yakata.

Novectacle has now made Seventh Coat playable in the web through NovelSphere instead of downloading. Seventh Coat was Novectacle’s April Fool’s game released in 2013 and is basically a side game that can be played without knowledge of Fata Morgana no Yakata. You may see my impression of Seventh Coat here. The web version is compact with some change in keys and is still user friendly. It’s certainly nostalgic playing Seventh Coat again, though I would’ve preferred a new April Fool’s game and/or the mini game based on the second character ranking poll that’s still not out yet. If I was J.B., I’d yell out, “Hurry up, Dark†Knight! Bring out a new game already!” but I know the writer for the series is busy writing novels instead of making indie games for now.

And since it’s April Fool’s, Novectacle also has an insane ridiculous discount on its games, music, and other goods where they are all 75% off. The sale is limited to their Booth site and is one day only, April Fool’s Day.

To those looking forward to the English release of Fata Morgana no Yakata aka The House in Fata Morgana, do I have good news for you.

Over the years, the small doujin group, Novectacle, tried to reach out to a greater audience, particularly the ones overseas. Fata Morgana no Yakata has a Western and realistic feel to it, so there should be a market out there, especially for the people wanting something else rather than the typical VNs. Though Fata Morgana no Yakata can be mistaken as a Western VN with its art, names, and setting, so I assume it could be slightly confusing for some people.

Novectacle refused to do a Kickstarter for the game (thank god) and used its funds from the Japanese version in hopes of releasing an English version for they want more people to play their doujin game. They didn’t care about the money, they just want people to play and enjoy the world of Fata Morgana no Yakata; they wanted people to see a wider world. But of course, they lacked funds for they’re not prosperous financially or well-known.
Novectacle was able to release a rough English demo in 2014 with some decent translation, nevertheless, it still needed some editing. In the summer of 2015, MangaGamer announced its plan to localize the game and will soon be playable through Steam on Friday, May 13th (how fitting). Novectacle’s English site now links to MangaGamer instead of their original 2014 English site. I believe the English version is digital only and sells at the same price the original physical game was first sold at, $24.95, while the Deluxe Edition is 10 bucks more, but includes the soundtrack which is definitely a worthwhile purchase. I’m not trying to sound biased or anything, but the music is FUCKING AMAZING!

I expected the price of the game to be lower since it’s digital only, but the Japanese digital version is around the same price, and I assume Steam will have discounts eventually for those who are undecided.
Based on the rough 2014 English demo, there were some emoticons and unfitting slang used to replace original text, mainly reactions, which was a turn off, but it was a demo. I know the translators were trying to be humorous in this dark suspenseful VN, but I really didn’t find it necessary to include any of those as the original game did not have it, and it ruined my immersion. I hope MangaGamer doesn’t go over the top with the translation, but hey, I can’t say much since I’m not a translator myself, I just expect the English version to be readable and understandable, possibly with some good writing and prose. Please no memes. MangaGamer plans to release a demo for their version, so it is possible it’s not remotely similar in translation to the original demo. MangaGamer is making the game possible for all to enjoy, and granting Novectacle’s long-awaited wish.

That’s all for Fata Morgana no Yakata news.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

On a non-related note, I do have my own opinion of the series and its future.

I appreciate what Novectacle released over the years and I did say I look forward to more news in my previous News post, which I still do, and I am glad Novectacle is expanding. However, expanding on the same game can only get them so far.

Fata Morgana no Yakata has expanded to various forms and media over the years, first with the PC game, then spin off games, a mobile version, jewelry, drama CDs including its own web radio program, light novels, manga, a prequel fandisc, and now an English version of the original game. I like the series, but I have to admit, the game is done and there is nothing Novectacle could do besides add extras such as short stories, side games, and what not, but what I and possibly many other players want the most is a new original game. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the things they bring out for most of the content is new and amusing and the characters are still unique and charming, but I’m slowly growing tired of seeing the characters used in multiple universes and the same game in different media. I know Novectacle is a small doujin circle and are thankful there’s a sudden boom of the series in the past two years resulting in what we have today. Novectacle is certainly reaching out to many people in numerous forms just as they wanted to.

What I’m trying to say is, I don’t want Novectacle to begin and end with only Fata Morgana no Yakata. They did mention the possibility of making a new game, though it may take several years for it to come out if I were to take Fata Morgana no Yakata’s release date into account. I also don’t think it’s possible for the series to go further as the writer mentioned in the afterword of the last light novel that he even began to run out of things to write as he didn’t want the novels to be too similar to the game and changed it up a bit. It’s possible the writer temporarily moved on to writing novels to branch out and make his name more well known. Them porting Seventh Coat, where the story is about the protagonist delivering a new indie game, can be an indicator of a new game, or maybe I’m over thinking it. I hope the funds from the English version may be able to support Novectacle financially in making that new original game we’ve all been waiting for.

So will I check out the English version? You might find my response odd, but I’m actually not too sure yet, maybe in the future. I’m not making any promises as I got enough dose from the series already. I could certainly buy the English version to support them, but the game wouldn’t be for me. If the money is used to fund a new original game, I’ll definitely purchase it, full price, deluxe edition, whatever it may be. I’ll wait for a new game, even if it takes 4 years to come out, hopefully sooner.

Leave a Reply

